Another music review

I’m sure you’ve read my claim that Indie/Alternative is my favourite song genre. It’s so raw, I love the artistry. Something edgy but not dark.

I thought I would be the one who look deeply into the lyrics, but some songs have a unique voice that captures and moves me. So why not we just jump right into the Indie world on my MP3, shall we?

1) Gregory and the Hawk_ Boats and Birds

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pz5H3iVjAlw

So, instrumentals aside, the song is about one’s dedication to love somebody. I’d already give a snippet of the song lyric on Facebook.

Snippet of lyrics:

“If you be my star
I’ll be your sky
you can hide underneath me and come out at night
when I turn jet black and you show off your light
I live to let you shine”

It’s really soft and you have to appreciate it. It’s not the song you would want to enjoy, but appreciation is one’s enjoyment, I’ll say. Or is it the other way round, Whatevs.

2) Kate Nash-Merry Happy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Zdi2IF5ezw

This song is whose tune would just bring you back to life. Shit, I could just say “revive you”.

Anyways, listening to this song would result to the blooming of flowers around you. It’s spreads positivity contagiously. If you are one who takes the same bus to work everyday in the early morn’, listening to this song adds a nice touch to your day, my day that is

Another line from the song:

“But I won’t regret because you can grow flowers from where dirt used to be.”

3) Micachu & The Shapes – “Golden Phone”

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8TRkZpFgJcI

This song is weird and that’s why I love it.

How do you enjoy this song you would ask? Like this… Get yourself a carton of milk or Yogurt drink [probably healthier if you do so] and start grooving like you’ve never groove before to the beat!

4) of Montreal – Wraith Pinned to the Mist

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8cCPH1qnYI

This is also another bizarre song, dance away!!!

5) Regina Spektor – Chemo Limo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a_NF0QcIn9I

Last one. I know I’ve done a Regina post, but I just love her music. She starts of the song is a dark tone and goes really deep. Somewhat depressing, actually. It’s about someone having cancer and going through Chemo, as the title goes but is striving for the better. It really gets you thinking of death and how you just have to be stylish and live your life before death than suffer the wrath of hoping of a cure in a painful manner. It’s like being optimistic based on nothing.

Snippet of Lyrics:

No thank you no thank you no thank you no thank you
I ain’t about to pay for this shit
I can afford chemo like i can afford a limo and on any given day I’d rather ride a limousine
No thank you no thank you no thank you no thank you
I ain’t about to die like this
I can afford chemo like I can afford a limo
and besides this shit is making me tired it’s making me tired it’s making me tired
you know I planned to retire someday

Leave a Reply

