Cosmia_Joanna Newsom

Since I’m still in my rave over Joanna Newsom. Not one singer has impressed me with their skills and story.

So the song that’s stuck in my head, as of now, is “Cosmia”.

To summarize the literary meaning of this song, it’s basically about a death of Joanna’s best friend or lover:

“And all those lonely nights down by the river
Brought me bread and water, kith and kin
But in the quiet hour when I am sleepin’
I couldn’t keep the night from comin’ in

Why you gone away
Gone away again
I’ll sleep through the rest of the day
If you’re gone away again

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BhH_zaolYUg

Again. the voice is impeccable. It’s unique.

The music is almost skeletal. There’s a harp and a violin, instruments that are soothing to the ears but not the classical type.

It’s 7 minutes of life and beauty.

Leave a Reply

