Islands _ The XX

Are you guys up for another song by “The XX”?  Well, I sure am.

Visually, the music video is fairly simple but I do see a deeper meaning. The addictive dance moves, set in a loop, gradually transits to a detached and an aloof mood.

The colour fades into gray scale and the dance steps portrays a very distressing situation.

Unfortunately, the song lyrics contradicts the whole feel of the music video:

I don’t have to leave anymore
What I have is right here
Spend my nights and days before
Searching the world for what’s right here

Underneath and unexplored
Islands and cities I have looked
Here I saw
Something I couldn’t over look

I am yours now
So now I don’t ever have to leave
I’ve been found out
So now I’ll never explore 

It has a very positive and hopeful tone for a relationship. The fact that she has found the ‘perfect’ guy, she has no reason to look farther. [Which makes perfect sense to not lose that person]

Unfortunately, I do sense some negative undertones.

It seems almost depressing that she[‘ll never explore] and there’s no more of the excitement one gets from searching for ‘that’ guy.

She will never get to experience life outside that ‘perfect’ moment. And will never really know if he is the right one.

See what I’ve done
That bridge is on fire
Going back to where I’ve been
I’m froze by desire
No need to leave

Where would I be
If this were to go under
That’s a risk I’d take
I’m froze by desire
As if a choice I’d make

And yet, the power of love makes the yearn for the excitement of the chase to disappear. Once you get on board, there’s no turning back.

It’s a double edged sword where one who sacrifices freedom for the one they love, can never turn back to the past.

Love is a risk. And the fact that it causes one to ‘[freeze] by desire’, makes people afraid of love and the consequences of it.

In any case, enjoy the music.

UNTIL NEXT TIME!!!

Leave a Reply

