Always on repeat.

Ever experience those moments where you listen to the same song over and over again on your i-Pod to the point when you just associate yourself with that song?

I’ve probably listened to “Block After Block” by Matt and Kim 20 times today. But a week later I’d just get bored of them and a new song would be ‘my’ song.

Watch out for late phone calls
Wheat paste and concrete walls

Go too far, live too long
Time’s too short, right and wrong

Block after block  (2x)

It’s one way now on Wythe
What was left, now is right

Hey friends we’ll jump the turnstiles
And cut it down while the lights are out
Eyes closed and shouting right now

Lights turn on and dark turns up
Side by side, dream bigger
Next in line it’s late
Now this is all me (2x)

I think it takes a pile of bricks
For us to make a home
And I’m not sure but I hear
Mountains grow from just a stone

Block after block (2x)

Everything I’ve learned
Every step I took
And street I walked

Lights turn on and dark turns up
Side by side dream bigger
Next in line it’s late
Now this is all me (2x)

 

The song is just exceptional. It makes me recollect all the good memories I had before this one. It is definitely a feel-good song.

I love the metaphors of how “it takes a pile of bricks for us to make a home” and how “mountains grow from just a stone”. It shows that there’s big dreams starts out small. All it takes is time, patience and definitely hard work to achieve whatever you ever dream of.

Leave a Reply

