Leela James _ My Joy

I know I’ve immersed myself into the world of Indie rock or pop but there will always be a sacred part within me which openly invites Soul and R&B.

Other than the legendary Whitney Houston, Leela James has caught my attention with her deep vocals that is rich and powerful.

 

Who are you to tell me that I cant go on without you
Why you tellin me I’m never gonna survive
But once upon a time yes I believed that lie (Oh lawd)
But sorry no way no how you can’t control my mind

‘Cause if I thought you were the end all in my be all
I would’ve never left you alone and I wouldn’t be on my own and I never never woulda grown
no no no aint no way you gone take away
My joy, my peace, my strength
no no no ain’t no way you gone take away
My joy, my peace, my strength

Thank you for the times of all the pain you gave me
The hate you showed to me taught me how to love myself 
It’s funny how you tried to break down my pride and my spirit
It doesn’t even matter now ’cause I done moved on with my life

Cause if I thought you were the end all in my be all
I would’ve never left you alone and I wouldn’t be on my own and I never never woulda wrote this song
no no aint no way you gone take away
My joy, my peace, my strength
no no no ain’t no way you gone take away
My joy, my peace, my strength
No, ain’t no way

Very low in lyricism but Leela is very straight forward with her emotions  in a relationship.

The pace of the song might be too slow and draggy for some of you but it just adds on to the mood of how her joy and strength is slowly being taken away from her in the relationship.

Consequently, she is able to take that pain and learn from it in order to make that change in her life.

I hope you enjoy the song.

UNTIL NEXT TIME!

 

Leave a Reply

