Blade BY FRANZ WRIGHT

I was reading poetry in the office [during my free time] and I found this prose-like

“If I stare into it long enough, the point comes when I don’t know what it’s called, a condition in which lacerations are liable to occur, like a slip of the tongue; when a drop of blood might billow in a glass of water, blooming in velvet detonation and imparting to it the colorless, tasteless and origin-less fear in which I wake.”

-Franz Wright

Amazing lyricism.

Very descriptive of the painful nature of his fear of something.

The words “billow”  . . . “blooming”  really gives a percussive effect which emphasizes how fear engulfs one’s mind.

OK, I was never good at interpreting poems but that actually made sense.

Enjoy the read!

UNTIL NEXT TIME!!

Leave a Reply

