Song for no one _ Miike Snow

Remember that moment when you listened to the radio and you heard the song that you fell in love with but you don’t know the title of it? It happened to me 3 months ago.

How frustrating can that be when you don’t know the lyrics to search for the song and put into your MP3?

Finally, when I was in the office and the song played, I quickly jot down any phrases from the lyrics and with the power of Google, I found it!

“Song for no one” by Miike Snow. Now this is a Swedish indie pop band. [Well, of course it has to be indie. My brain can only register Indie music]

Enjoy!

I met you on the palisades
The sun was spilling kerosene
And I was feeling wide awake
Girl, you can be so obscene
And when you sang a lullaby
A missionary called your name
You disappeared and hopped a flight
For the Serengeti plain

Tell everyone you know
Open up the door (2x)

When your love has gone 
You carry on
This is her song
This the song for no one
This the song for no one

I think I own a photograph 
That shows her in the freezing rain
With the the Italians on the bank
They know how to entertain
A string of pearls behind your hair
A music box to catch your tears
Now call your mother in L.A.
She hasn’t heard your voice in years

Tell everyone you know
Open up the door (2x)

When your love has gone 
You carry on
This is her song
This the song for no one (x3)

When your love has gone 
You carry on
This is her song
This the song for no one

You can jump a ride 
But don’t ask why 
And don’t close your eyes

This the song for no one (x3) 

 

I can’t even tell you how much I love this song.

Unfortunately, it is a song of loss. Then regret, which follows up with reminiscing the girl and the drive to move on.

Sure everyone wants a song that has a good ending. And Miike Snow captures the hope of a new beginning in both the tune of the song as well as the lyrics.

I love the imagery they use like “ A string of pearls”, and “ the music box to catch your tears”, it;s so beautiful that I want to hug the lyricist.

This is definitely my go-to song especially when I’m feeling so much negative vibe around me that it’s disintegrating my shoes.

I really hope you enjoy the song.

UNTIL NEXT TIME!!

Leave a Reply

