A moment in time

If you could go back in time to witness something (no meddling with time though) that happened in the past, anywhere in the world, what would it be?

It’s hard isn’t it?

You might want to visit the Wright Brothers and the invention of airplanes. Since this was the most important inventions that proved the old adage of “Humans cannot fly” wrong, I see no reason anyone would want to witness their success to fly.

I’ve asked around (at home) on that one moment in time they would want to witness and experience. And here’s what I got.

My sister would love to revisit the 4-0 score Singapore won against Pahang in the 1994 Malaysia Cup Competition. It’s this momentous time for her among the tens of thousands of people spectating the then key Singapore players like Fandi Ahmad and Malek Awab  winning the Malaysian Cup for Singapore. Couple it with the legendary Kallang roar (which was at it’s peak back then), it’s no wonder she wants to revisit that night.

As for my mother, when I asked her the same question, she immediately replied with a smile, “When I dated your father”. I’m not lying, that’s one of the greatest answers. I had goosebumps all over when she said that. It was so touching and I could never understand that kind of love.

As for me, there are many places of different times I would want to witness. So many life changing events that I would otherwise witness due to my age. The ‘Youthquake’ in Britain for example; a time of youth culture and modernism. It’s basically the blossoming of the freedom of expression, love and creativity.

I’ve been in search of freedom of any form. And maybe this is why I choose to witness such times. It is these parades or marches after some kind of traumatic events like the Stonewall Riots (1969) that I want to be in; to empathize and understand why they march.

How about you?

Leave a Reply

