How to: Develop your creative eye

I often come up with pretty random sketches and people have asked me, “Hafiiz, how did you come up with that?”. And my answer would always be, “Oh, it’s accidental”. By that, I literally meant accidental. It’s not every minute of the day I get inspired so when I don’t this is what I do: See an object from a different perspective.

You need to set aside about an hour for this exercise. But the truth is, everything around you can be a source of inspiration at any point of time; Just like guessing the shapes the clouds make in the sky.

This piece of wood (below) from my dining chair can be one of them. I’ve emphasized the images so that you can see them. From left: A troll holding a club, a fox, a dragon’s head and a sad raccoon’s head. It seems like a lame thing to do but if you can identify images on oft-neglected pieces around you, you are expanding your mind beyond what’s obvious.

Wood texture

If staring at a plank of wood sounds weird for you, then go back to your college days when you start doodling on graphs you’re supposed to memorize. Below is a Peltier’s model denoting which chemical processes would be present at any temperature and amount of rainfall.  On the flip side, it could be a portrait of a man.

Peltier's model
And if you have no graphs to destroy, use Einstein Kristiansen from “Art Factory” (if you’ve watched it on TV) as inspiration. I remember watching him doodle a mess and add on elements to create a new image. That is what I usually do with my sketches. The beginning is unknown to me but once I start, there’s a never ending flow of interpretation to that doodle.

So try it out. All you need is a piece of parchment and a pen anyway.

Sketch 19

“… if you can identify images on oft-neglected pieces around you, you are expanding your mind beyond what’s obvious.”

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

