First self-published book!!! The Rambling Man

IMG_5308

I’ve been working on this book for over 2 years now and it’s finally done. I’m dedicating this post for my debut of my first self-published book, “The Rambling Man”, a coming of age book about a person battling with low self-esteem and self-worth to be a better human being. I’ve made the characters non-gender specific because I want the readers to be able to link the characters with their people revolving around them. Characters include; the protagonist, the Little Robin, The Life-giver, the birch tree, the orb weaver and other characters to contribute to the illusion of a world I have created.

Remember this? It’s my first draft I typed out in my office place when I had some free time.

IMG_0116

“The Rambling Man” is an illustrated novel: one part illustration and another prose. Putting together this book triggered this whole other creative process and it dawned on me that not only is this a novel, it’s also a piece of art work. Deriving most of my ideas from my sketches, it seemed that I have unconsciously created this narrative with my illustrations and they happened to be connected in a way. What seemed to be a creation turned out to also be a puzzle being put together; a process to figure out what lies behind the mind of the author.

There have been contemplations about my novel to be purple prose but I deliberately did that to reflect the true essence of a teenager’s mind. What better for exaggeration to take place here. One moment the protagonist is sinking into a pool of quicksand and another, talking to a Robin while smoking marijuana. I made hyperbolic references to nature and how they interact with each other.

I highly recommend you to get the eBook https://payhip.com/b/k9S4. Not only is it much cheaper but the illustrations pop out more on screen. I, on the other hand, needed to get a tangible piece of my work.

It can’t thank enough to those who have read my manuscript and while it has been a difficult journey, this book serves more of a catharsis than any other and I can actually move on from it. It’s been such a great experience and I can’t wait to create something new. In fact, I have 2 other ideas for my next book project; one dealing with domestic violence while the other is about a series of paintings that deals with the little bits sadness in life.

Here’s the preview!!!

An escape inside h…
By Hafiiz Karim
Until next time!! Oh how can I forget to thank Blurb for everything?!
One Response to First self-published book!!! The Rambling Man

  1. verkur says:

    so proud of you! you should try and ask stores like Cat Socrates or Basheer if they can stock your book 🙂

Leave a Reply

